Web CMS: Add Content

Download as PDF

Overview

After your website structure is set, you can create your actual page content. Backstage uses flexible, modular articles, so you can easily add text, images, videos, and links exactly where you want them.

Note

To get started, check the Web CMS: Build Navigation and Pages FAQ, where you’ll learn the basics of setting up and organizing your website.

Tip

For examples of web page templates, visit our help site: howto.picturemaxx.com

Create web articles

First, add a new template-activated page as described in Web CMS: Build Navigation and Pages. Then, you can fill the template with your content.

To add a new content element:

  1. Navigate to Web > Content > Articles.
  2. For multiple websites: Select the relevant website from the Website dropdown.
  3. Within the Navigation panel:
    1. Choose a navigation section (main, footer, top-right menu) from the Tree dropdown.
    2. On the selected Navigation tree, pick a page where the element should appear.
  4. Click Edit > New to create a new element for the selected page. Below the Articles Available on the Selected Page panel, the relevant setup fields will appear.

A screenshot of the Web Content Elements window showing the options to create a web element. The selection options are highlighted: website, navigation element, page, and the Edit menu.
Content Elements window: Select Website, Tree, Page and the Edit menu

Note

Navigation trees are typically organized as follows:

Tree 1 = main navigation, Tree 2 = footer navigation, Tree 3 = top-right navigation.

Article Template

Select a template from the dropdown. Each template includes a description, sample layout, and a help link. Each template has its own specific fields and settings. All of these appear when you select the template.

  1. Fill out all the relevant content fields and click Save.
    • For a multi-language website, enter your article content for each language.
    • Manage web languages under Administration > Language Settings > Languages.
  2. If relevant for the template, switch to the Article Elements tab and add elements with Edit > New.

A list of all article templates and their layouts, including configuration options, can be found at howto.picturemaxx.com.

Note

The Article Template option becomes only available in Backstage after you have selected the Template New Page: Single Column Template under Web > Page Elements > Navigation and activated the Enable Article Templates checkbox.

Important

The Article Template can only be selected initially when creating the article and cannot be edited afterwards, as the fields specific to the template are loaded.

A screenshot of the Web Content Elements window showing element setup options. The relevant fields are highlighted.
Content Elements > Article tab: Panel General settings

A screenshot of the Web Content Elements window showing the Article Elements tab setup options. The tab and the Edit menu are highlighted.
Content Elements > Article Elements tab: Edit menu

General Settings

The articles consist of the general settings, which you can find in the Article tab, and the article elements, which represent the recurring parts of the article. For example, a slider medium, a team page profile, or a text block in the accordion. To edit an article, please select it in the tabular overview to view the details. The following settings are available for configuring your article.

Note

Use the Article Reuse on any page article template to show the same article on multiple pages.

Note

The integrated table functions allow you to search, filter, and sort records. For more information on these functions, as well as how to set up custom views and use the export function, see the Advanced Table Views FAQ.

Below Articles Available on the Selected Page, in the Article tab > General Settings, configure the following:

Article is online

By checking the box, the article will be visible on the website immediately after saving.

Restrict Access

Only applicable if customer accesses are available. The article is only visible on the website for certain accesses or access groups.

  • Select the desired data records from the Available accesses drop-down list and transfer them to Selected accesses by clicking the Add button.

or

  • Select the desired data records from the Available Access Groups selection list and transfer them to Selected Access Groups using the Add button.
  • Similarly, you can use the Remove button to remove already selected accesses or access groups from the selection list.

Screenshot of the Web Content Elements window showing the Article tab. The option Restrict Access is highlighted and activated.
Content Elements > Tab Articles: Panel General Settings: Restrict Access

Schedule a start/end date

  • By specifying a publication date and, if desired, a specific time, the article will only be displayed on the website starting that time.
  • Simply specify the day and time when an article should be automatically deactivated on your website.

Change the order of articles

Select the desired article, click on Sorting, and choose from the following functions:

  • Move to first place
  • Move up
  • Move down
  • Move to last place

Copy or move web article

You can select any article and copy it, or move it to another page:

  1. In the table view, select the article you want to copy/move.
    • To select a continuous range: SHIFT + Click.
    • To select a non-continuous range: CTRL (PC) or CMD (Mac) + Click.
  2. Click to Edit > Copy or Edit > Move.
  3. Choose the position in the navigation where you want to place the article.
  4. Click Save.

Change display of articles

Backstage offers you the option of displaying the input mask for your items in two different ways. Select from the View menu:

  • Grouped by language: The active web languages and the corresponding items are each recorded in separate areas.
  • Grouped by elements: There is only one area in which items are sorted by elements, such as headings and content.

If necessary, you can also apply the desired view to all articles in the navigation point or additionally to all subordinate navigations. To do this, select either:

  • View > Apply view to all articles in this navigation.

or

  • View > Apply view to all articles in this and subordinate navigations.

Delete web articles

  1. In the table view, select the article you want to remove.
  2. Select Edit > Delete.

Language-dependent elements

  • You can find all language-dependent elements in the respective activated languages, which you can manage under Administration > Language settings > Languages.
  • By default, a separate input area with an editor is available for each language. Store your article content here.

Text Editor

Beyond the basic text editing tools, the Text editor offers these additional features:

Text-Editor_Font-Family Font Family Set the font for your text.
Text-Editor_Font-Size Font Size Set the font size for your text.
image_17 Text alignment Align your text to the right, center, left, or justify it.
image_18 Listing To list the text in bullet points, choose between symbolic bullet points or numbers.
image_19 Indent Indent the text either to the left or to the right.
image_20 Text editing Display text in bold, italics, underlined, or strikethrough.
en_image_10 Linking Create a hyperlink from the selected text. In the window that opens, configure the settings for CMS, General, Popup, Events, and Advanced. If you no longer want the link, remove the hyperlink from the selected text.
image_27 Clipboard Use functions to edit your text, such as cut, copy, paste, and paste as text or paste from Microsoft Word.
image_28 Find and replace Find a word within your text and replace it.
image_29 Undo/Redo Undo text changes or repeat some operations.
image_30 Text Color Change the color of your text or highlight it.
image_31 Source reference/
Abbreviation/Acronym/
Removed text/
Inserted text/
Attributes
Use features to make your text traceable, such as source references, abbreviations, acronyms, inserted or deleted text, and the insertion and editing of attributes.
image_32 Subscript and superscript Format the selected text as subscript or superscript.
image_33 Special characters/
Control characters/
Protected space
Easily add special characters to your text and toggle formatting marks on or off while editing your article. Non-breaking spaces are also available when needed.
Styles Apply pre-defined styles to the selected text. Styles can be defined in your site’s style sheet, which is under Web > Settings > Layout > Colors tab.
Paragraph Apply specific predefined formats to the selected text. Paragraph formatting also is used to "tag" or identify parts of an article, e.g., “Heading 1.”
Remove Formatting Remove formatting from the selected text.
Links Turn the selected text into a hyperlink. In the pop-up window, you can configure settings for CMS, General, Popup, Events, and Advanced.
If you no longer want the link, simply remove the hyperlink from the selected text.
Insert/ Edit Images
Embed/Edit Multimedia
Add images from your document library and edit them as needed.
Insert multimedia files (such as videos or audio) from your document library and update them whenever necessary.
Insert/Edit Medium You can insert a media file from your system archive and customize its settings:
Media Number – Enter the media number of the file you want to use.
Alternative Text – Provide a short description for the media (important for accessibility and SEO).
Alignment – Choose how the media should be positioned within the article.
Dimensions – Specify the size of the media. You can also define fixed dimensions as default settings.
Border – Enter the width of the media border in pixels.
Vertical Spacing – Set the space between the media and surrounding text vertically.
Horizontal Spacing – Set the space between the media and surrounding text horizontally.
Full Screen Expand the editor to fill your entire screen for easier input.
Change the background color while editing for better visibility.
Note: The background color is only for editing purposes. It will not be saved or displayed on the website.
Change Background Color Change the background color while editing for better visibility.
Note: The background color is only for editing purposes. It will not be saved or displayed on the website.
Insert Table Specify the table properties and click Insert.
Table Properties Define a table’s row or cell properties.
Table Rows Insert or delete table rows.
Table Columns Insert or delete table columns.
Merge Cells Merge table cells or split merged table cells.